Questions and answers

Questions and answers

Questions about BACKUP EAGLE®

  • BACKUP EAGLE® supports IBM Spectrum Protect / IBM Spectrum Protect Plus, Veeam, EMC NetWorker, Rubrik, SEP sesam and IBM BRMS. BACKUP EAGLE® additionally provides a standard interface for further backup tools.

  • Yes, BACKUP EAGLE® provides a complete view of your entire backup environment. This includes both monitoring and reporting.

  • Yes, groups of application servers can be defined in BACKUP EAGLE®. Any application server can be assigned to such a group, independent of the associated backup server and thus also independent of the backup software.

  • Yes, different authorizations are provided in BACKUP EAGLE®. Each authorization is managed in your identity management system. BACKUP EAGLE® can be connected via Active Directory (AD) or Lightweight Directory Access Protocol (LDAP). Role Based Access Control (RBAC) is supported.

  • No, but there is a BACKUP EAGLE® client for IBM Spectrum Protect, which can provide in addition the information from dsmerror.log and dsmsched.log centrally.

  • BACKUP EAGLE® supports Windows, AIX and Linux. Further information can be found under Product>System requirements.

Questions about backup monitoring

  • Yes, BACKUP EAGLE® expects a further backup within a defined period of time for each backup performed. The default period is 7 calendar days. You can also define rules for certain backups (for example, all SAP full backups, monthly backups) with different time periods.

  • Yes, you can have the results displayed in the graphical user interface or generated automatically as a report.

  • Yes, you can combine the automatic control with self-defined calendars so that backups are checked for exactly defined days (e.g. every Thursday, every 7th of a month or the end of a quarter). BACKUP EAGLE® then reports expected but missing backups.

  • Yes, BACKUP EAGLE® can automatically re-evaluate error messages that are irrelevant for the restore. Backup jobs that only contain such irreversible errors will be revalued from "not ok" to "ok" and will no longer need to be checked in the future. This reduces the number of jobs that have to be checked daily.

  • Error messages are revaluated by creating revaluation rules. The rules contain a pattern for unique identification of the error message and the specification of the affected backup jobs. This information is displayed in each backup log below the original error message.

  • Yes, you can set certain backup jobs in BACKUP EAGLE® to a so-called maintenance mode for a specified period of time. Incorrect backups during this period are automatically revaluated to "ok" and a corresponding comment is added to the protocol.

  • Yes, BACKUP EAGLE® processes the information of all integrated backup servers and other sources with backup information. The backup protocols in BACKUP EAGLE® are extended by the detailed information from the Automatic / UC4 and Control-M jobs.

  • BACKUP EAGLE® supports DataDomain, Isilon, General Storage Cluster Control (GSCC), IBM Tape Libraries, IBM StoreWize and devices communicating via REST/SNMP protocol.

Questions about reporting and verification

  • BACKUP EAGLE® provides verifications of all performed backups and restores (one protocol per run) and of the configuration of your backup servers (once a day automatically and at any time additionally as required). It also provides reports that include changes to your configuration.

  • Yes, all backup and restore reports can be filtered according to requirements and target groups. Recipients (e-mail addresses) can be stored for the target groups. After the reports are created, they are automatically sent to these recipients.

  • Yes, the backup amounts per backup job are available in BACKUP EAGLE® for all backups. There are reports on the total amounts per backup client or per backup server over various periods of time. For IBM Spectrum Protect and EMC NetWorker, the total amounts in the backend are also available.

  • Yes, pre-built capacity planning reports are available (for tape libraries, data domain).

  • Yes, a dedicated protocol is created for each backup and restore. One file is provided in pdf format and one file in text format.

  • Yes, BACKUP EAGLE® creates a complete documentation of the configuration for each backup server every day. In addition, a separate report containing all configuration changes is automatically provided.

  • Yes, you can have a look at the time distribution of all backups with the corresponding runtimes both in the BACKUP EAGLE® GUI and in the reports provided. The viewing period (1 day, 1 week, ...) is freely selectable.

  • Yes, BACKUP EAGLE® can collect and evaluate any CSV, XML, JSON data provided via an existing import interface.

  • Yes, you can access all reports directly for each day. You determine the storage period in BACKUP EAGLE®. All documentation reports are stored with unique file names. This makes it easy to restore these reports from a long-term archive. This allows you to keep track of changes to your backup configuration for a long time to come.

  • You can define recipient groups in BACKUP EAGLE® and assign reports to them. Once created, these reports are automatically sent to the recipients.

Evaluate BACKUP EAGLE® for free

I have read the data protection policy and agree to the processing of my personal data.
*Required fields

Fragen und Antworten

Fragen und Antworten

Fragen zu BACKUP EAGLE®

  • BACKUP EAGLE® unterstützt IBM Spectrum Protect / IBM Spectrum Protect Plus, Veeam, EMC NetWorker, Rubrik, SEP sesam und IBM BRMS. Darüber hinaus bietet BACKUP EAGLE® eine Standardschnittstelle für weitere Backupsoftware.

  • Ja, BACKUP EAGLE® gewährleistet eine umfassende Sicht über Ihre gesamte Backupumgebung. Dies gilt sowohl für das Monitoring als auch für das Reporting.

  • Ja, in BACKUP EAGLE® lassen sich Gruppen von Applikationsservern definieren. Einer solchen Gruppe können beliebige Applikationsserver zugeordnet werden, unabhängig von dem zugehörigen Backup Server und damit auch unabhängig von der Backupsoftware.

  • Ja, in BACKUP EAGLE® werden unterschiedliche Berechtigungen bereitgestellt. Die einzelnen Berechtigungen werden in Ihrem Identitätsmanagementsystem verwaltet. BACKUP EAGLE® kann via Active Directory (AD) oder Lightweight Directory Access Protocol (LDAP) angebunden werden. Role Based Access Control (RBAC) wird unterstützt.

  • Nein, es gibt jedoch für IBM Spectrum Protect einen BACKUP EAGLE® Client, der zusätzlich die Informationen aus dsmerror.log und dsmsched.log zentral bereitstellen kann.

  • BACKUP EAGLE® unterstützt Windows, AIX und Linux. Weitergehende Informationen finden Sie unter Produkt>Systemvoraussetzungen.

Fragen zu Backup Monitoring

  • Ja, BACKUP EAGLE® erwartet für jedes durchgeführte Backup ein weiteres Backup innerhalb eines definierten Zeitraums. Der Standardzeitraum ist 7 Kalendertage. Zusätzlich können für bestimmte Backups (z.B. alle SAP-Full-Backups, monatliche Backups) Regeln mit einem abweichenden Zeitraum definiert werden.

  • Ja, Sie können die Ergebnisse in der grafischen Benutzeroberfläche sehen oder automatisch als Bericht erzeugen lassen.

  • Ja, Sie können die automatische Kontrolle mit selbstdefinierten Kalendern kombinieren, so dass Backups auf genau definierte Tage kontrolliert werden (z.B. jeden Donnerstag, jeden 7. eines Monats oder Ultimo eines Quartals). BACKUP EAGLE® meldet dann erwartete aber fehlende Backups.

  • Ja, Sie können, für den Restore irrelevante, Fehlermeldungen automatisch umbewerten lassen. Backupjobs, die nur noch solche irrelevanten Fehler beinhalten, werden von "not ok" auf "ok" umbewertet und müssen in Zukunft nicht mehr kontrolliert werden. Damit reduziert sich die Anzahl der Jobs, die täglich kontrolliert werden müssen.

  • Die Umbewertung der Fehlermeldungen erfolgt durch Anlegen von sogenannten Neubewertungsregeln. Die Regeln enthalten, neben einem Pattern zur eindeutigen Identifizierung der Fehlermeldung, auch die Spezifikation der relevanten Backupjobs. Diese Informationen werden in jedem Backupprotokoll unterhalb der Originalfehlermeldung ausgewiesen.

  • Ja, Sie können in BACKUP EAGLE® bestimmte Devices, Server, Clients und Jobs für einen Zeitraum in einen sog. Wartungsmodus setzen. Fehlerhafte Backups in diesem Zeitraum werden automatisch auf "ok" gesetzt und ein zugehöriger Kommentar im Protokoll ausgewiesen.

  • Ja, BACKUP EAGLE® verarbeitet die Informationen aller eingebundenen Backup Server und sonstiger Quellen mit Backupinformationen. Die Backupprotokolle in BACKUP EAGLE® werden um die Detailinformationen aus den Automic / UC4- und Control-M-Jobs ergänzt.

  • BACKUP EAGLE® unterstützt DataDomain, Isilon, General Storage Cluster Control (GSCC), IBM Tape Libraries, IBM StoreWize und Devices die über REST/SNMP-Protokoll kommunizieren.

Fragen zu Reporting und Nachweis

  • BACKUP EAGLE® erstellt Nachweise über die durchgeführten Backups und Restores (ein Protokoll je Lauf) und über die Konfiguration Ihrer Backup Server (einmal täglich automatisch und jederzeit zusätzlich bei Bedarf). Darüber hinaus werden Ihnen Berichte bereitgestellt, die die Änderungen an Ihrer Konfiguration ausweisen.

  • Ja, sämtliche Berichte über Backup und Restores lassen sich entsprechend der jeweilige Anforderungen und Zielgruppen filtern. Für die Zielgruppen können Empfänger (E-mail Adressen) hinterlegt werden. Nach Erstellung werden diese Berichte automatisch an diese Emfänger gesendet.

  • Ja, die Sicherungsmengen pro Backupjob stehen in BACKUP EAGLE® für alle Backups zur Verfügung. Es gibt Auswertungen über die Gesamtmengen pro Backup Client oder pro Backup Server über verschiedene Zeiträume. Für IBM Spectrum Protect und EMC NetWorker sind auch die Gesamtmengen im Backend verfügbar.

  • Ja, es sind vorgefertigte Berichte zur Kapazitätsplanung verfügbar (für Tape-Libraries, Data Domain).

  • Ja, pro Backup und Restore wird ein dediziertes Protokoll erstellt. Es wird jeweils eine Datei im pdf-Format und eine Datei im Textformat bereitgestellt.

  • Ja, BACKUP EAGLE® erstellt täglich für jeden Backup Server eine komplette Dokumentation seiner Konfiguration. Zusätzlich wird jeweils ein gesonderter Bericht mit allen Konfigurationsänderungen automatisch erzeugt.

  • Ja, Sie können sich sowohl in der BACKUP EAGLE® GUI, als auch in bereitgestellten Berichten, die zeitliche Verteilung der Backups mit den zugehörigen Laufzeiten anzeigen lassen. Der Betrachtungszeitraum (1 Tag, 1 Woche, ...) ist frei wählbar.

  • Ja, BACKUP EAGLE® kann beliebige CSV, XML, JSON Daten, die über eine vorhandene Importschnittstelle bereitgestellt werden, sammeln und auswerten.

  • Ja, Sie können für jeden Tag direkt auf alle Berichte zugreifen. Die Aufbewahrungsfrist in BACKUP EAGLE® bestimmen Sie. Sämtliche Dokumentationsberichte werden mit eineindeutigen Dateinamen abgelegt. Ein Wiederherstellen dieser Berichte ist damit auch aus einem Langzeitarchiv einfach möglich. So können Sie Änderungen an Ihrer Backup Konfiguration auch lange Zeit später nachvollziehen.

  • Sie können in BACKUP EAGLE® Empfängergruppen definieren und diesen Reports zuordnen. Nach Erstellung werden diese Berichte automatisch den Empfängern gesendet.

Testen Sie BACKUP EAGLE®

Die Datenschutzerklärung habe ich zur Kenntnis genommen und bin mit der Verarbeitung meiner personenbezogenen Daten einverstanden.
Bitte * Pflichtfelder vollständig ausfüllen.